Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

New to electronics ... is this the right place?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobAinscough

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm relatively new to electronics, my professional degree is in Computer Science, have been designing, coding, deploying software for about 34 years in a variety of stand alone applications and web applications.

I'm shifting my focus to something I've always enjoyed at a hobby level. I've started my company (of one) and learning about USB HID devices (primarily around Arduino PCBs) with the goal of building HID devices for various uses (simulations, gaming, etc.). I'll be investing in a good laser cutter/engraver also to help produce my parts. Eventually, if my products prove to be successfully, I'll probably have to outsource some of the process but not the design.

I'm reading as much as I can as quickly as I can to get the basics down, I've purchased some equipment to get me started but don't have a "shop" yet ... gotta get the prototypes working and sold first. This is one of the rooms in our house that the wife and I decided will be our "hobby" room, so it will have to suffice for now ... the laser cutter/engraver will be out in the garage along with air filtration system.

uc

I've done electrical work before, on my old race car (Lotus) stripped all the wiring out and used mil-spec wire and relays, etc. My focus now is more "electronics" work.

So my question, am I in the right place or is this website more for the advanced electronics person that operates professionally?

Cheers, Rob.

you're in the right place