Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need your suggestion regarding 3D EM simulator

Status
Not open for further replies.

saravan

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all,

I am new to this forrum. for the last 2 months i am working on IE3D for the design and simulation of planar inductor and I am fabricating the device too.

I want to know why the simulator is taking so much time to simulate my design at higher frequencies of meshing.

I am in confusion whether my design is wrong or something else.

Please give me suggestions.

thanks in advance.

Hi, Saravan:

For most spiral structures, IE3D is in fact very fast compared to other EM simulators. However, I would like to suggest you to mesh the structure fine enough for it. The rule of thumb is that you should mesh the inner most segment (assuming rectangular with 4 segments for each term) to be meshed into 2 cells. A spiral inductor normally has much detail. There might be many vias and multiple layers. If you do not try to reduce some un-necessary detail, the problem can be huge. You can send me the file at jian@zeland.com and I can try to help you on it. Regards.

Hi Saravan:

Maybe you just need to try a different simulator. Two months is a lot of time to lose fighting with software. Your time would probably pay for a large part of the software cost.