Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

need help on bandgap vdd=2.5~6v

Status
Not open for further replies.

sunnyboy

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hello,everyone!

I am a freshman to Analog IC Design, now i want to design a bandgap circuit which vdd will change from 2.5v to 6v use CMOS tech
as i know: CMOS bandgap design have
1 use OPA + diode

2 use cascode mos + pnp diode

but cascode bandgap need Hi vol
so it seems that OPA + diode is the only way ,but i have a bandgap use OPA + diode ,but vdd only change from 2.0v to 2.8v

can anyone give me some help?
thanks

Try to use 2-order cascode+OPA+PNPdiode,and a proper bias can help you

can you add some layer?
use a depletion &enhancement NMOS to design the reference.use pmos as pass element.it works fine.

haha - NO, i don't think you are allowed to add extra layers whenever you want them!! you're funny!

back to the question - any small op-amp should be able to operate from 1.5v-6v with no problem at all.

so if you are in cmos tech and only have pnp, use pnp to ground - no problem. 8:1 pnp ratio for 54mV VPTAT, 5.4k Rptat for 10uA, and you can find the proper resisor to gain Vbe up to Vbg.

Build the op-amp separate from the bandgap. Make sure the common mode and VDD works in your range. Go for about 60dB DC Gain, and make sure to compensate for 50-60d phase margin. Once you have this op amp, build the bandgap, i guarantee it will work.

but the pnp transistor has less gain.

electronrancher said:
haha - NO, i don't think you are allowed to add extra layers whenever you want them!! you're funny!