Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help deciding which FPGA to buy from Nexys3 and Avnet Xilinx Spartan-6 LX16 E

Status
Not open for further replies.

siddharthakala

Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I need help deciding which FPGA to buy. I am very confused between Nexys3 and Avnet Xilinx Spartan-6 LX16 Evaluation Kit?

I am a beginner, and would really appreciate any help.

The LX16 looks great to me, but dont really understand whats the catch here, I mean how can they offer an FPGA and a PSoc on a single device at such a cost. Are they very low end FPGAs/PSoC? Also, there is a note which says: Xilinx Platform Cable USB II is not included in the kit but can be purchased separately. Is it the same cable we use to program the device?

On the other hand, the Nexys3 device looks very straightforward, but i think it is very simple device and would not offer as much to learn as the LX16.

Please help me guys.

There seems to be no catch. Both boards have the same fpga. The Avnet board has a cypress psoc, the digilent board has a cypress mcu + ft232.

Both boards can be programmed over usb with the cable that's included. Both vendors supply a programming tool. Digilent also includes an impact plugin so you can program it use the ISE toolchain. I am not sure if the avnet also includes such a thing. And a quick glance at the avnet product page shows that the avprog utility is still windoze only.