Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Moving to a new career within electronics

Status
Not open for further replies.

matrixofdynamism

Advanced Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
It will soon be 3 years since I graduated. I am an electronic engineer in UK. While I am working in a "good" job I am not satisfied because of lack of creative work. I am thinking of moving into a "hardware design engineer" role which in my understanding will involve designing a lot of circuits and possibly PCBs as well. In it I shall design things with microcontrollers and also with FPGAs thus use C/C++/VHDL and may even do some analog design.

I can see that most jobs that electronic engineers do are not directly related to writing C/HDL programs and doing simulations for a living.

Now I have an MEeng in EE (integrated masters) with good acamedic track record already and just want to know, how do you think I can maneuver my career into: becoming a Digital circuit desinger working with latest FPGAs, DDR interfaces, MGBT, SoC (the latest development in FPGA world), writing HDL and SystemVerilog/SystemC testbenches and doing PCB design OR embedded systems engineer and learn about various microcontrollers/microprocessors and their architectures and write C/C++ code, real time applications possibly using RTOS or even do Ethernet/USB design among other possibilities and potentially PCB design with it. In either case I shall be able to get what I want. I know that the type of role that I want though does exist on this planet, it is real.