Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[Moved] Causes of lack of interest in electronics

Status
Not open for further replies.

FERDINAND DIGRACIA

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Please I am a teacher,Who is investigating the causes of poor perfomance of my pupils in Basic Electronics and how to prevent those causes.Any suggestions?I need your help.

Re: Causes of lack o f interest in electronics

I suppose too much theory, if they experience the joy of making something on their own I'm sure they will be more interested is what you teach.

Alex

very good question!
Now when I was a kid and learning basic electronics I was really excited with winding a radio coil and single diode receiver (crystal receiver) and simple amplifiers and
oscillators put together with 1-2 transistors. I also really took off when I got one of those 50in1 Electronics boxes from RadioShack/Tandy.
Common everyday contact with electronics back then was a transistor radio and tv.

Today, what have we got? Kids today, as soon as they are old enough, maybe 8years are given a mobile phone by their parents because they are fearful of losing little johny. So in there hand they have a thing to play around with talking to others, pictures and video on the screen etc..........these things have more computing power in them than a huge computer of 30years ago.....

So, how then for example to get excited about a crystal radio for example ? to appreciate the nuances of pulling in radio waves from a antennae you strung out
in the backyard........that mobile phone in the hand seems so easy what it does, like magic in comparison........