Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Looking for advice on micro-controller choice

Status
Not open for further replies.

jpotter

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I have a DDS based rf generator that I have been building for about 10 years. The current controller is a bit long in the tooth. I want to replace it. My current system uses a Sage (Rabbbit) RCM3400 on an eval board. These are custom built systems with varying specs so I have relied on development boards for the builds. With a new processor I want to start with a development board. My current system has about 200 k of C code. So right off I'd like at least 512 k of programmable memory. I am time multiplexing between receiving/sending TCP/IP over Ethernet with data acquisition that monitors the phase of the field of a resonant cavity to digitally phase lock the DDS source to the cavity frequency. I originally programmed with Rabbit Dynamic C, but I found a company that had a standard ANSI C compiler for the Rabbit. They also had worked out a time multiplexing scheme and converted my Dynamic C code for a reasonable consulting fee.

In addition to Ethernet capability, I need a modest amount of digital I/O, including at least one SPI channel. The Rabbit is an 8 bit processor but handles 16 bit calculations pretty well. My problem is that there is a lot to choose from and much of what I see seems tiny, cheap, and under powered.