Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

linux basic question

Status
Not open for further replies.

welove8051

Full Member level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hello geeks, i have been working on controllers for 7+ years. now want to work on embedded linux. i have friendly arm mini. please clarify my following doubts.

1, what software should i need to use to write coding for example led blink in friendly arm. is it GCC or any other one(qt creator)?

2, i want to blink led on friendly arm. where should i need to start. using a kernel or shell script.

3, after compiling do i need to copy the code to a memory card and run it on the friendly arm.

if not please give the steps to be followed.

thanks in advance

Hi welove8051

the most easiest way is to install the compiler on your target and compile your program directly on your target.
But this is not the normal way.

The correct way is that you have a development system on your PC.
The development system consists of three different parts.
1.) Crosscompiler like gcc, binutils and libc.
2.) Buildsystem with all include files and libraries for your target.
3.) IDE like qtcreator or a simple editor.

Now you can start writing your GpioLed Flashing application.
This link is a start.
https://falsinsoft.blogspot.ch/2012/11/access-gpio-from-linux-user-space.html

You can setup the qtcreator so that the deployment will happen automatically.

Does the application has to be on the SD card?
Depends on. You can setup your target with NFS File System.
In this case all programs and libraries will reside on the PC.
But I wouldn't start with that.