Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Is PIC16F505 a good choice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dann11

Full Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am new to using and choosing a microcontroller, I want to use a microcontroller for my design and will be use for checking input and output current and voltages, it will also be used to trigger fets, battery charge monitoring. With my requirements of 7I/O pins and low cost microcontroller, I have chosen PIC16F505, will this be a good choice for my application. Moreover, Can you please help me on how to choose on the MCU frequency, ROM and RAM capacity and so as my ADC resolution and other MCU requirements.

You may feel handicapped with 7 I/O pins. But some pins are shared with other functions and if you want to program it in circuit, some pins will be unavailable. It is always better to have a few pins left over...

You may feel handicapped with 7 I/O pins. But some pins are shared with other functions and if you want to program it in circuit, some pins will be unavailable. It is always better to have a few pins left over...

Isn't most of microcontroller pins shared different functionality? Will it be better if other function be coded as software? How about this microcontroller PIC16F1503? what do you think?

Selecting proper microcontroller from the available controllers is the critical process .
But most of the MCU manufacturing company giving the selector tool .
So we can simply select which one .

Look https://www.microchip.com/maps/microcontroller.aspx for microchip ....