Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

IO pads testing for esd protection

Status
Not open for further replies.

raj_shekar

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am new to esd protection.
how do u test the IO pads for esd protection
please guide me

i dont have access to science direct.
I have iopads availble in the technology library. i have to test them for esd protection, so i need to know what are the tests should be performed ?

test procedures are defined by international standards,- see documents of JEDEC, IEC. Exist a few types of ESD tests: HBM (Human Body Model), CDM (Charge Device Model), MM (Machine Model). For each exist special test equipment. Main way to make ESD tests - to contact with test house, offering such service.

I have to work on the shematics of IO pads which also has esd protection.
so i have to test the esd protection, what is the way to do it

What you are saying is that you have to design ESD protection AND test it in lab?
If you are supposed to test it you probably have ESD test setup in house - then ask somebody who did it before or read manual.
If you do not have the tester you have to go outside and ask for service - so you will not do it by yourself.
To design ESD protection structure - stick with the strusctures which are described in your design manual. If you are new to this it is the safest way to go.