Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

IC I/O Input Resistor Calculations

Rocketman46

Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello All,

I am a software engineer trying to do a parts stress analysis on each of the components on a design I am working on, and I am struggling with a bit of analog electronics.

I have an FPGA (3V3 I/O logic levels) connected to an ADC (connected to a 3V3 supply).

In series between the FPGA and ADC on the SCLK, CS, DIN and DOUT pins are 22.1R resistors.

How would I calculate the power dissipation, and or voltage drop across these 22.1R resistors?

Do I use the maximum I/O current and work backwards using V = I.R and then P = V.I?

Look forward to your reply,

Cheers,

Rocketman46

Hi,

I guess there are thousands of simple tutorials, online calculators, even videos on how to calculate the power dissipation of a resistor.
--> please do a search on your own.

Also there are free and easy to use circuit simulators. They all should be able to calculate power dissipation.

Generally power dissipation P = V * I.
This is rather basic. It is true for all passive devices that can´t store or convert energy. True for R, D, LEDs, transitors and so on.
(Not true for C, L, batteries, motors...)

V is always measured across the device (along the current flow)

This means: if you have a resistor, one leg at 3.3V and the other at 3.1V --> then you have to use the voltage across them which is (3.3V - 3.1V) = 0.2V

And according Ohm´s law (also very basic) the current through the resistor: I = V / R (again here the voltage across the resistor)