Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to use "wait for 20 ns" in VHDL testbench? (Quartus)

Status
Not open for further replies.

childs

Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Quartus is complaining on non-synthesizable "wait for 20 ns" in testbench. But it IS a TESTBENCH. I was trying to use the wait-statement to create clock, so I don't think I can use clock edge to replace the time.

This is my first time trying to write testbench without any input/output ports. Not even clock. Is there any setting that I need in order to compile this non-synthesizable testbench? Did I miss anything? Also, did I misspell "synthesizable"?...

Thanks in advance :)

You cant compile testbenches in Quartus. You need to use a simulator like modelsim!

you spelled it correctly.

please post your testbench code. just to see if everything is correct.
I don't think that Quartus supports testbenches.

Bare in mind, that the simulation capabilities of Quartus / ISE are limited.
Generaly, the use of synthesis tools for simulation is discouraged. I suggest you work with a designated simulator (such as ModelSim or Active HDL) while being assisted by the synthesizers RTL viewer to get the idea of how your code is translated into logic.

Bare in mind, that the simulation capabilities of Quartus / ISE are limited.
Generaly, the use of synthesis tools for simulation is discouraged. I suggest you work with a designated simulator (such as ModelSim or Active HDL) while being assisted by the synthesizers RTL viewer to get the idea of how your code is translated into logic.