Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to make a GUI using Visual C++

Status
Not open for further replies.

sana khan 01

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hi i want to design graphical user interface (GUI) using visual c++, actually i want to take data from virtual com port and display in gui for doing my project

can anyone help me for doing this im new to visual c++ i take some tutorials how to draw a window, button etc.

Re: gui using visual c++

Might I suggest that you look at C# to use for your project.
You can download Visual Studio C# Express for free from Microsoft. It is a powerful and easy to use IDE that makes writing GUI software quite easy.
C# is a lot easier to use than C++, it is a modern language with a lot of the shortcomings and problems of C++ fixed.
It is the language of the Microsoft .NET framework.
There are lots of sample code on the Internet that you could use.

JUST MY OPINION:
C++ is a difficult, convoluted and ugly language that does not have a future.
It will be overtaken by more modern languages such as C#.
I think there will be more demand for C# programmers than there will be for C++ programmers.

if you want to build a gui for your application in windows , either learn the win32 api or use a gui toolkit for windows.

it takes sometime to understand the internals of win32 api. if you can spend that time better learn win32 api and use visual c++ . you need not know c++ for building windows gui.

else , get a gui kit available for windows (both c and c++) , study and choose one which suits you best.