Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how to I find (approximately, not precisly) the delay in if statement

Status
Not open for further replies.

FixitFast

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Please consider the following condition (Language is VHDL)

if(data_nbr < total_data and data_fetch = "01" and (write_dpath = '1' or wr_start = '1') ) then --and ddr_tx_cmplte = not_complete

Now in Xilinx, virtex-6 what is the general gate delay for AND/OR NOT etc. ( or any general Xilinx FPGA)
It is because I am not an expert programmer and hence my logic includes this type of IFs, hence I need to know the timing since I have timing requirement for my design.
I look at virtex-6 data sheet but could not find the answer

Waiting for answer.

Simplest way for the non-expert programmer is to synthesize a small test design with your piece of code in it, synthesize it and then 1) see what the synthesized result is 2) see what kind of delays you are getting (in the timing report) and 3) use this information to take a step from non-expert to slightly-less-non-expert.

If you're worrying about delays for combinatorial code in an FPGA, you're either "doing it wrong" (and should be using synchronous logic) or you're a highly advanced engineer doing some crazy stuff (and probably wouldnt be asking here).

Why are you asking about delays? surely you know the max delay acceptable because you know your clock speed?

Thank you for your replies