Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to find materials/books to explain sub-circuit examples for SPICE

s55

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I took the circuit design classes, and then I also intensively studied the circuit design on my own, using the books, "Fundamentals of Microelectronics" and "design of analog CMOS integrated circuits" by Razavi.

Now, I would like to learn about circuits discussed in each chapter, by designing a couple of different examples of the circuits. For example, if I studied the common-source amp in the chapter 7, then I would like to follow a couple of different examples for the CS amp, and also to learn how each resistor/capacitor/W over L of mos values used in the example can be determined based on the numerical derivation or even qualitative explanation.

The above CS amp is just an example for my question. I would like to do so for each sub-circuits, e.g., biasing circuit, cascade stage, current mirror, active load, and so on. (For reference, I prefer to use the Cadence tool for the spice, because I have the simulators are available for my study)

Unfortunately, there are no such examples in the book I studied, and I also briefly reviewed the following two books as well, but there are few examples but not many. (please correct me if I'm wrong...)
- Jacob Baker, "CMOS Circuit Design, Layout, and Simulation
- Phillip E. Allen, "CMOS Analog Circuit Design"

Isn't there any way to figure out my problem?