Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help me! How to measure the PSSR of OTA

nahid99

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am a newbie in Analog IC design. Please help to create a test bench for measure the PSSR of my Two Stage OTA in cadence. Some resources, someone applied AC analysis to measure te PSSSR on the other hand someone used XF noise analysis. Please can anyone help to me for the standard methods.

For DC PSRR, two forced supply voltages, take differences, do math.

For AC PSRR, AC amplitude on supply = 1, sweep freq, plot / pick
db(vout).

All of this with the amplifier set up closed loop linear, of course.

There are no standard designs and no std. PSRR methods yet PSRR is reported in dB referred to changes in input/supply.

The best way is to give a spectral plot PSRR for each supply rail in dB with the transfer function from supply to input. The current sources and mirror topology greatly affects PSRR and Gain Bandwidth of the compensation filters will ultimately reduce the error a finite amount.

For example the 741 used only Vcc supplied current sources so Vee was 99% of the PSRR error in split supplies.
While error increases from gain reduction from rising f ,so too does Zout which may affect load regulation error.

Here you can adjust the frequency of ripple on Vcc & Vee while choosing 0 to my chosen max AC ripple on both or either. With Vpp monitors scattered around.

Notice the error from Vee ripple is the derivative of the applied noise signal.

You can also edit/choose the LM324.

--- Updated ---

How does gain affect PSRR?