Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

ESP8266 for controlling selenoid door lock

Status
Not open for further replies.

Watha

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello, I'm new in electric and I'm trying to use ESP8266 for controlling selenoid door lock, as picture attached.

I've checked ESP8266 works fine it could get data from firebase and send data to pin.
But I could not make it works with Selenoid Door Lock.
For battery I used 9v alkaline battery and it did work for selenoid door lock without relay when I checked it out. I've also already tried to replace battery with Adaptor 12V 2A.
I've already tried to use a diode parallel to magnetic locks but still does not work.

Could you please tell me where did the wiring go wrong?

Did it not work because I use 3.3v in ESP8266 as VCC in Relay Module?
Should I add Arduino Uno for Mikrocontroller to get 5v VCC?

[moderator action: removed links to commercial site]

Attachments

• trial2_bb.jpg
    trial2_bb.jpg
    288.6 KB · Views: 218
Last edited by a moderator:

3.3V is not enough to operate most 5V relays so that is probably where the problem lies. If you are using a nodeMCU board it has a 3.3V regulator on it so you should be able to change to 5V supply for the nodeMCU (use 'Vin' pin) and relay board. The 3.3V output on D7 should still be enough to operate the relay driver board.

I use them here to drive banks of 240V 1.5HP motors so it certainly can work successfully.

Brian.