Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Designing a "lossy metal" dipole in CST

Status
Not open for further replies.

victor50

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
lossy metal

As a biotechnology student at Rome university I have to prepare my thesis on a medical device which requires the design of a high frequency dipole (1-3 GHz) by means of CST, software for which I am a beginner. Nevertheless, following the tutorials and some examples I was able to design a dipole made of PEC (and vacuum) my professor was somewhat satisfied about. Now she asked me to perfect the design using a real material instead of PEC and suggested to select "lossy metal" with a conductivity of 1e+007 (10 millions) S/m. Now I changed the material of the solid bar selecting this new "lossy metal" material and ran it (!T) all from scratch but "unfortunately" the results were not that different from those of the PEC material. The polar graph of theta in the farfield section was overlapping almost perfectly the same graph for PEC material. I tried an extreme and impossible case using a conductivity of 1e+003 S/m and in this case the results were somewhat different from the PEC material. Unfortunately my professor dismissed my extreme test (1e+003) and said that I should work on the 1e+007 S/m lossy metal to find what was wrong with it. Is there anyone able to help me?

Yaa I too have noticed the same . I have used aluminium lossy metal 3.72e+007. for my antenna. there is no change in S11, also a very minimal change in surface current and Magnetic energy density when compared with PEC.Far field is also same.

Hi,