Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Communication of microcontroller

Status
Not open for further replies.

Abul Basar

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi. I am a student of Diploma in Engineering Electrical Technology. So i haven’t so much knowledge about microcontroller. I am learning about microcontroller and i am confused about why microcontroller need to communicate? Why serial port is important? Why microcontroller communicate with serial port? And whats the difference between I/O port and serial port?

A microcontroller doesn't NEED to communicate; it depends on the application. You may have a microcontroller that controls the speed of a motor, for example. There's no need for that uC to communicate with any external system. But a microcontroller may be used in a system that, say, has an LCD display which uses a serial port to receive display data; that microcontroller then NEEDS a serial port.

A serial-port IS an I/O port. It's just an I/O port with a dedicated function. If you look in detail, you'll see that most uC's have pins that may function as either general purpose I/O or as a serial-port.

Exactly as Barry has said. MCUs have I/Os. Each I/O can be used configured for a particular function (a list of which is usually provided by the chip manufacturer). Some of the can provide the Serial Port functionality.

Let's assume that for some reason you are using an external ADC, that provides the provides the data via SPI, I2C, I2S or whatever. Then the MCU needs to communicate with the external ADC in the applicable communication protocol in order be able to fetch that data from the ADC.