Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Colpitts oscillatoroutput power for Am transmitter

Francesco_bre

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone, i'm new to electronics and to this forum. I'm trying everyday to learn more about electronics. In these days i'm experimenting with the colpitts oscillator and am transmitters. I successfully built a colpitts oscillator which resonates around 800 kHz. I also modulated the wave with an audio signal and received the signal with an am receiver. Obviously the range was very low, about 3 feets. My question is, how to increment the output power in order to transmit at higher distances? I also attached an antenna to the output of the colpitts but it wasn't much effective. I also noticed that if i change the inductor to some smaller value, in order to increase oscillating frequency, i get lower output in terms of peak to peak voltage of the produced sine wave. Can someone explain also this behaviour? Thanks in advance.
I leave the circuit diagram of the colpitts and the Ltspice file attached to the post.

Cattura.JPG

Attachments

• Nuovo Archivio WinRAR.rar
    671 bytes · Views: 66