Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Can we reduce EDA license cost by using larger, faster servers?

nasica88

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Sorry for my novice question. I am a mere systems engineer for EDA servers.

I am trying to figure out how to reduce EDA software license cost like Cadence or Synopsys. In an effort for that, are the following options viable? If no, can you pls tell me why?

1) Just use the latest, faster processors from Intel or AMD or even alternative processors like ARM or IBM Power.
2) Just use larger servers with more CPU cores or more sockets - we have up to 16-socket servers in the market.
3) Use MPI for parallel processing across multiple server boxes.

Again, thanks for your advices.

** In a follow-up question, how many CPU cores do you usually use for a single job? I know this question is too vague, but let me hear your usual practice.

The software license cost is for the supplier to make money from designing and supporting the software, and he charges what the traffic will bear.

The cost has nothing to do with processor or server speed (which just determines how fast the software will run).
Why do you think it would.

Sorry for my novice question. I am a mere systems engineer for EDA servers.

I am trying to figure out how to reduce EDA software license cost like Cadence or Synopsys. In an effort for that, are the following options viable? If no, can you pls tell me why?

1) Just use the latest, faster processors from Intel or AMD or even alternative processors like ARM or IBM Power.