Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Can CST show Imagninary part of Line Impedance?

Status
Not open for further replies.

arthury

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
complex impedance cst

Hi everybody, now I am studying the lossy case of Line impedance

First I create a coaxial line with inner PEC radius=1 mm and outer PEC radius=3.83 mm
the material between the two PEC is vacum, that is epsilon=1 mu=1, no conductivity.
and the line impedance is exactly the same as the analytical result.

But when I set the conductivity of the material between the inner PEC cylinder and a outer PEC shell to a non zero value, say, 0.1s/m, the line impedance shown on the port mode screen will still be a real number. The analytical result must be a complex number.

I can only find the value of line impedance when I show the port mode.

So my question is can CST show the complex Line Impedance, both the real part and the imaginary part?

By the way , I also create a same model in HFSS, and it is able to give a curve of both real part and imagninary part that are in accordance with the analytical result.

Regards!

calculate impedance cst

Hi arthury,

in order to take into account losses for the port mode calculation you should use the FD (preferably the FD TET) solver. The Time domain solver does not take into account the losses during the 2D Port calculation. However, it does take them into account in the full 3D simulation.