Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Beginner questions re FSM

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aussie Susan

Advanced Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am very new to FPGA programming and I'm trying to learn using Verilog. (40+ years of procedural programming from Cobol, Pascal, Fortran, all variants of C etc are probably getting in the way!). I have a Digilent Basys3 board and have installed Vivado 2022.1 on a Linux box as my environment.

I've managed to get a 'debounce' module working and using that to toggle a LED - that is the level I'm at!

I've been looking at several code examples of a UART transmitter and they all use a FSM - fair enough as I'm familiar with those from way back in my Electrical Engineering student days. What I don't understand is why they all seem to create 2 'always' blocks, both sensitive to the 'posedge' of the same clock. One seems to handle the state transitions and the other handles the inputs and outputs.

I hope this is not a 'flame war' question but why use 2 FSMs running in parallel? It would seem to me that it is be more 'readable' to have a single FSM that does all the work within each state.

What are the benefits and problems with each style?

Susan

I'm a VHDL guy, but I think what I'm about to say still holds.

I think textbooks love to use the two-process state machines. I don't know why. And they also love to talk about Mealy machines, and Moore machines and Mealy-Moore machines.