Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Avalanche Pulse Generator

Status
Not open for further replies.

PlanarMetamaterials

Advanced Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm new to electronics and am trying to design a sub-nanosecond 50V pulse generator via an avalanche transistor. I've chosen Zetex's FMMT413 transistor as it looks perfect for the task. I designed the following circuit:

1655307148804.png

Which, as far as I can tell, is pretty standard.

However, I cannot get this circuit to produce an output (I'm using a 5 GHz scope connected to Vout). I've tried adjusting Vin from 60V to 120V, and applied a square wave input to the trigger. As far as I can tell, all the components are working properly and I've measured proper voltages at every node. I've tried three different transistors just in case, and have tried replacing C11 with a 5 nF cap as per the datasheet and application note. The variable resistor R6 is maxed at 100 kOhm, adjusting to a lower value doesn't make a difference.

Any suggestions as to how to obtain the desired output?

Solution
Aright, thanks everyone for your input.

betwixt and FvM take the proverbial cake for providing the correct answer -- depending on the mode.

Firstly, I replaced the SM2 with a more standard RCP0603W50R0GEB.

To obtain a triggered avalanche response, I pulsed the trigger input with a +/- 5V square wave at 1 kHz. The output could be observed sharply transitioning between follower mode and avalanche mode when the supply voltage Vin exceeded 85V. I suppose this is inline with the datasheet curves for the give dI/dt at the base.