Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Amplifier Design - a cheap-to-build amp for my guitar

Status
Not open for further replies.

wbreslin951

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Amplifier Design

Hey guys, I'm completely new to any kind of electronics design, however I learn pretty quickly. I've been researching all over google to try and find some kind of resource for amp design, but all I've found is schematics, and to tell y'all the truth it's all greek to me. I'd like to design a cheap-to-build amp for my guitar. I've found many schematics pertaining to that, but there's nothing like that feeling of building something of your on design ya know? I know there's a hell of alot of math involved, but I took precalc in high school and got a b so i'm not to worried about that lol. Also, from my understanding, though i could be completely wrong, is that it's easier to design a circuit around an opamp than a transistor, but i also think that its harder to find high power opamps, though i could be completely wrong on that as well. also, whats the deal with MOSFETS? Those are completely way over my head lol.
anyways, if you guys could help at all that would be great. Thanks! and looking forward to hearing your responses soon!

Cheers
-Billy

Re: Amplifier Design

May I give you a recommendation ?