Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

1490 Digital compass signal to H bridge circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

barnsie

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am very new to electronics. My project involves connecting two outputs from a digital compass to a 12 volt DC geared motor. I have the compass working properly. My problem is the motor needs to rotate clockwise and anti clockwise in response to the two different compass signals and do nothing when there is no signal. I do not need to control the speed of the motor or how far it rotates. It seems simple but I don't know how to do this.

The compass outputs are equivalent to an open collector of an NPN transistor and capable of sinking 20mA continuously or 25mA intermittently.

The motor is rated 140 mA no load, 800mA at rated load and stalls at 3000mA.

I am using a motor twice as big as needed so should be drawing around 400mA.

I think a L298 or LMD18200 motor driver chip may be suitable but my compass does not generate a PMW signal. Will this matter? Do I need an oscillator to generate a signal. Is there an easier way that will use the compass output. I will need to make, or get made 500 of these circuits a year so ease of assembly is important. Any help would be appreciated.

Your claiming that you don't need to control the motor speed. Why you are asking for a PWM?