Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Single phase and three phase system

Status
Not open for further replies.

Atif Hussain

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,
I am new to this edaboard and it is my first post. I searched this board but didn't found any discussion on this topic.
I am a new student of power. I want to know what is the comparison between the single phase and three phase system. Direct comparison not taking the two phase system into account.
I am new to this board so I expect a positive response to this question of mine.
Thanks in advance.

I hope this article will be helpfull for u.
Single-phase power distribution is used especially in rural areas, where the cost of a three-phase distribution network is high and motor loads are small and uncommon.

High power systems are nearly always three phase. But the largest supply normally available as single phase varies considerably by country and in some cases region. In the UK it is often as high as 100A or even 125A meaning that there is little need for 3 phase in a domestic or small commercial environment. Much of the rest of Europe has traditionally had much smaller limits on the size of single phase supplies resulting in even houses being supplied with 3 phase (in urban areas with three-phase supply networks).