Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Regulators don't regulate correctly

Status
Not open for further replies.

scwillgr

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hey all,

I'm pretty new to practical electronics, so please bear with my novice problems.

I'm constructing a symmetrical power supply, which is powered by an unregulated transfomer (nominal 12 V/800 mA) and is supposed to provide my device with +5 V, GND and -5 V.

There is no external ground connection and no bridge, and I use 7805 and 7905 regulators. I also have additional 470 µH electrolytic condensators between the ground and regulator outputs.

The problem is that my supply only manages to provide a total 8 V difference between the positive and negative outputs, and this is not symmetrical. The 7905 seems to function as intended, but 7805 only gets to 3 volts. When I measure the input voltages, the 7905 seems to hog almost all voltage, over 12 V while 7805 gets less than 4 V.

I suspected this might be due to incorrect voltage division between the 1000 µH caps, but this is not the case. The voltage is divided correctly with only the caps and with both the caps and resistors, when the regulators are disconnected. It also crossed my mind that the dc supply is too weak, since it nominally provides 12 V, but the supply stays at over 16 V at all times. I blamed defective regulators, defective caps and switched all parts. I rebuilt it entirely on a breadboard, but nothing seems to work.

Any ideas what to try next?

---------- Post added at 21:05 ---------- Previous post was at 21:04 ----------