Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

You should use Cyclone (Altera).

Status
Not open for further replies.

RRD

Newbie level 3
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
41
Cyclone FPGAs are the first FPGAs to support decompression of
configuration data. This feature allows you to store compressed
configuration data in configuration devices or other memory, and
transmit this compressed bit stream to Cyclone FPGAs. During
configuration, the Cyclone FPGA decompresses the bit stream in real time
and programs its SRAM cells.
 

ddt694

Full Member level 3
Joined
Dec 12, 2002
Messages
170
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
1,407
does cyclone have PQFP package?
 

my_garden

Member level 4
Joined
Dec 14, 2001
Messages
79
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
666
When can we use it?
What is its largest one in this series?
 

cdcll

Full Member level 3
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
163
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,199
What about the quotation for small quantity of cyclone FPGA?
 

Bartart

Full Member level 2
Joined
Feb 20, 2002
Messages
124
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Europt
Activity points
1,109
Hello!

Why we should use devices that aren't available on the market?

Xilinxs support is much more useful as @ltera, you will find out that when you have a problem with your application and you will change your mind.

Yes Cyclone devices have features that are interesting and it is low cost solution, but wait for Spartan III.

Bart
 

fe64970103

Junior Member level 1
Joined
May 17, 2001
Messages
16
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
70
Cyclone - what a disaster

Let me tell our story...

At our company we used Acex devices before Cyclone was announced. Then, guys from Altera convinced us to go for Cyclone, because this will be a very cost effective solution.

Then, we decidet to redesign our board and we have been waitnig for Cyclone for about 3 months over its estimated release date. now, this tornado...oupsss Cyclone is avaible but its price is 3 TIMES higher that the price promised us !!!!!!!!! Offcourse we went back on Acex, but what is happening now ??? Guys from Altera are increasing the prices for Acex devices and they are pushing us to choose Cyclone...Hey...who here is the vendor and whoi is the customer ? Who will decide whic chip to use Altera or Me !! Are we mad ?

At least we have learned our lesson. Our next board will have an Xilinx on it !!

Adios
 

my_garden

Member level 4
Joined
Dec 14, 2001
Messages
79
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
666
Re: Cyclone - what a disaster

Can't belive! Engineer has no time to play this type game with the vendor.
After read this story, I will still use Xilinx.
 

leonqin

Full Member level 4
Joined
Nov 7, 2001
Messages
238
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
China
Activity points
1,763
the guy is from altera or altera'Distributor ??

sometimes Distributor was more dislikeable than vendor
 

zcq

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jul 14, 2001
Messages
102
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
619
I think the price of cyclone or acex should be decided by altera not their distibutor.
 

juripero

Member level 4
Joined
Jul 30, 2002
Messages
79
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
477
I think the distributor is playing some dirty game here, should inform @ltera about this.
 

fe64970103

Junior Member level 1
Joined
May 17, 2001
Messages
16
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
70
Price ??? Distributor hehheheh

Another interesting thing...

Belive me or not, Altera is directing prices. The distributor just can't do anything. Belive me I have seen it with my eyes !!

I will not mention this distributor (you can guess there are only few big in Europe) but when I ask for a price the mentioned distributor has to wait about 3 days to get the priuce from Altera. And the prices are very high. I just cant understand the price politics of Altera.

Regards,
Mark
 

lsa1961

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Feb 21, 2002
Messages
22
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
93
We are speaking about the prices.
Here are the actual consumer prices from my distributor (with tax):

EP1C3T100C8 17.56$
EP1C3T100C7 24.62$
EP1C3T100C6 35.12$
EP1C3T144C8 20.07$
EP1C3T144C7 28.07$
EP1C3T144C6 40.14$

EP1C6T144C8 32.61$
EP1C6T144C7 45.63$
EP1C6T144C6 65.23$
EP1C6Q240C8 35.12$
EP1C6Q240C7 49.24$
EP1C6Q240C6 70.25$
EP1C6F256C8 40.14$
EP1C6F256C7 56.13$
EP1C6F256C6 80.28$


It's expensive or not?
 

TurboPC

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Mar 14, 2002
Messages
112
Helped
15
Reputation
30
Reaction score
14
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,154
Re: Cyclone - what a disaster

fe64970103 said:
Let me tell our story...

At our company we used Acex devices before Cyclone was announced. Then, guys from @ltera convinced us to go for Cyclone, because this will be a very cost effective solution.

Then, we decidet to redesign our board and we have been waitnig for Cyclone for about 3 months over its estimated release date. now, this tornado...oupsss Cyclone is avaible but its price is 3 TIMES higher that the price promised us !!!!!!!!! Offcourse we went back on Acex, but what is happening now ??? Guys from @ltera are increasing the prices for Acex devices and they are pushing us to choose Cyclone...Hey...who here is the vendor and whoi is the customer ? Who will decide whic chip to use @ltera or Me !! Are we mad ?

At least we have learned our lesson. Our next board will have an Xilinx on it !!

Adios
Don't expect too much from Xilinx... I had a similar experience. To steal the deal from Altera, Xilinx promised me a cheaper device. I changed my design to Xilinx. On the last day, Xilinx told me the promised device was not really available. I had to change back to Altera. I lost days of work...

F... Xilinx... Thank you Altera!
 

leonqin

Full Member level 4
Joined
Nov 7, 2001
Messages
238
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
China
Activity points
1,763
Cyclone
Spartan-III
which is avaliable NOW?
 

juripero

Member level 4
Joined
Jul 30, 2002
Messages
79
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
477
cyclone device is available and in production.

SpatanIII probably have not been taped out yet.
 

leonqin

Full Member level 4
Joined
Nov 7, 2001
Messages
238
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
China
Activity points
1,763
You should use Cyclone (@ltera).

xilinx's tools is too bad!
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top