Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

wireless communication with FPGA

Status
Not open for further replies.

Argoth

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,
I am trying realize wireless communication between two devices.
I have never done something like that and as a beginner I don't understand how some things work so I need your help.

I am using:
- Nexys 3 board with Spartan 6 FPGA
http://www.digilentinc.com/Products...5b85a628e-21AA2222-5056-0201-02D6A08418D6FF8E
- PmodRF2 transceiver
http://www.digilentinc.com/Products/Detail.cfm?NavPath=2,401,927&Prod=PMOD-RF2

On PmodRF2 there is microchip MRF24J40 that communicates with a host mictrocontroller via a 4 wire SPI port as a slave device. Microchip is an IEEE 802.15.4 Standard compliant 2.4 GHz RF transceiver and it integrate the PHY and MAC functionality.
So I guess I need write SPI master in FPGA something like... http://www.eewiki.net/display/LOGIC/Serial+Peripheral+Interface+(SPI)+Master+(VHDL)
And this I use for writing and reading data.
Now comes the part where I stopped. In MRF24J40 is implemented static RAM that looks like that.

There are some control registers and I have no Idea how to use them. I know that there is some short and long address register interface. So could you please tell me how to use it. For example:
According to MRF24J40 manual I need initialize MRF24J40 like this:

1. SOFTRST (0x2A) = 0x07 – Perform a software Reset. The bits will be automatically cleared to ‘0’ by hardware.
2. PACON2 (0x18) = 0x98 – Initialize FIFOEN = 1 and TXONTS = 0x6.
3. TXSTBL (0x2E) = 0x95 – Initialize RFSTBL = 0x9.