Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Wideband IIP3 Simulation settings and Measuring using ADS

narayani

Member level 5
Joined
Aug 15, 2014
Messages
92
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
6
Activity points
775
I would like to simulate and measure IIP3 for my wideband LNA.
I have designed wideband LNA from 8.2 to 8.7 GHz, now I have to simulate IIP3 for my designed wideband LNA. I am familiar in setting single frequency and simulating and drawing IIP3 graph. But I don't know how to do settings for wideband LNA using ADS.

I have selected HB2 tone from Insert>Template> HB2 Two tone, I don't know how to sweep frequency for wideband using HB2 two tone. Can any guide me to simulating IIP3 for wideband.

Below I have attached HB2 Two Tone Swept Power selected from ADS.
 

Attachments


BigBoss

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
4,704
Helped
1,426
Reputation
2,850
Reaction score
1,289
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Turkey
Activity points
28,439
The template is ready to use.You don't have to do anything because there is a Sweep Plan in HB Controller and when you start the simulation, RFpower variable will start to sweep.
For your intention, you should place another Sweep Plan to sweep RFfrequency as placed in the template.First priority belongs to RFpower then RFfrequency.You can also define RFfrequency in VAR block as Start-Stop-Step..( see how to do that..)
Note that the output dataset will be quite confusing and complex, be careful..
 

narayani

Member level 5
Joined
Aug 15, 2014
Messages
92
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
6
Activity points
775
The template is ready to use.You don't have to do anything because there is a Sweep Plan in HB Controller and when you start the simulation, RFpower variable will start to sweep.
I am little confused. I have used HB1ToneSweptFreq. Using HB1ToneSweptFreq If sweep frequency I am getting lot of errors. Please guide me how to sweep plan using HB Controller.
You can also define RFfrequency in VAR block as Start-Stop-Step..( see how to do that..)
Even I tried using VARblock as Start-Stop-Step. It is not allowing to change earlier VARblock.
You helped me lot, but if you give graphical sweep example, we could understand it easily. Please guide me.
Below I have attached, what I have done using ADS
 

Attachments


BigBoss

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
4,704
Helped
1,426
Reputation
2,850
Reaction score
1,289
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Turkey
Activity points
28,439
You made a mistake..
RFfreq should be assigned a number-for instance 1GHz or appropriate value- then define sweep values using with "Parameter Sweep" block like this.
Hb1.PNG
 

narayani

Member level 5
Joined
Aug 15, 2014
Messages
92
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
6
Activity points
775
You made a mistake..
RFfreq should be assigned a number-for instance 1GHz or appropriate value- then define sweep values using with "Parameter Sweep" block like this.
View attachment 159538
As I mentioned in the posting #1, I want to measure IIP3 from 8.2 to 8.7 GHz. I followed as you guided me in the previous post.
Eventually I got results and confused little from results. I am not sure whether I got right results or not.
Here below attached settings, Tabular column results and Excel results. Please guide whether I got right results or not. If not, how to get proper results.

- - - Updated - - -

The results in Excel File
 

Attachments


BigBoss

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Nov 17, 2001
Messages
4,704
Helped
1,426
Reputation
2,850
Reaction score
1,289
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Turkey
Activity points
28,439
Your Power Gain is negative, the results will be nonsense..First thing is to see a reasonable Power Gain.
Sweep Plan has first priority then Parameter Sweep has second priority in a sweeping.So RFfreq should have first priority then Available Power from Source will have second.
Don't confuse the units and pay attention while you're typing.
 

narayani

Member level 5
Joined
Aug 15, 2014
Messages
92
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
6
Activity points
775
Your Power Gain is negative, the results will be nonsense..First thing is to see a reasonable Power Gain.
Sweep Plan has first priority then Parameter Sweep has second priority in a sweeping.So RFfreq should have first priority then Available Power from Source will have second.
Even I checked in the reputed journal paper results, power sweeping is correct only. If you have any right power and frequency sweep planning, please suggest I would try it. Though I am getting vague results(Results are already shown in the posting #5) from my present power and frequency power sweeping plan.
Below attached results can be checked
 

Attachments


Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search


Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Sponsor

Design Fast


×
Top