Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Why use a Rework Station?

Status
Not open for further replies.

xibalban

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Firstly, I am a complete novice, and I haven't built a single electronic circuit except for:
  • Assembled an astable multivibrator on a veroboard once
  • Salvaged parts out of old electronic gadgets
  • Repaired a few amplifier circuits for my neighbours
  • ...and soldered a few passive components

I currently own a 25 W Soldering Iron (unbranded), some length of flux-core solder wire, and flux paste.

I would, however, desire to delve seriously into DIY and wish to obtain the following:
  • A soldering station with good quaility iron
  • Hot air too for heat shrinking, glueing, etc
  • A desoldering equipment
  • Good tool set/kit which would include screw-drivers, wire-strippers, etc
  • Panavise/PCB Holder
  • A simulator software for Windows 7

Could you experienced fellas suggest some brands with links for the above, please. Perhaps,you could very well list your own indispensable items that you enjoy using everyday here.
Most importantly, do I (an amateur, novice, etc) really require those items?

PS: I saw an ATTEN 8586 2-in-1 Station at a good price, but cannot decide whether I require it after-all.

Unless you work with SMT components a lot, having fancy tools isn't usually necessary. Weller makes solid general-purpose soldering stations (model WES51) which are a good deal for DIY level stuff.