Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Why the simulation is slow on my notebook?(2-3GB of data)

Status
Not open for further replies.

nxing

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
May 10, 2004
Messages
422
Helped
24
Reputation
48
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Location
China
Activity points
2,858
Why simulation is slow

Hello everybody,

I have IC5033 of my HP nx5000 notebook with suse 9.1. Everything is fine except that when the simulation data is larger (about 2G or 3 G), it's very slow. I see the hardriver light is flashing and sometime, looks like the simulation is stop. Can anybody tell what's the problem? It's because of suse or of my notebook?
By the way, the laptop have 25G for linux and 512M RAM.

Thanks in advance!
 

troops

Member level 3
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
60
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
495
Why simulation is slow

i think u dumpfile to HD frequently...
most time is hold to wait IO transfer data ...
 

nxing

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
May 10, 2004
Messages
422
Helped
24
Reputation
48
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Location
China
Activity points
2,858
Why simulation is slow

Hi troops,

Thanks for your reply! Can you tell me how to change the setup of configuration to avoid this problem?
 

siewl

Newbie level 3
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
30
Re: Why simulation is slow

i think your RAM is not enough for your large simulation so the data use the swap memory from HD.
I had a similiar problem too when i have 512MB RAM only. The solution is to increase the RAM to 1G.
 

mariaR

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Feb 28, 2003
Messages
110
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
697
Re: Why simulation is slow

nxing said:
Hello everybody,

I have IC5033 of my HP nx5000 notebook with suse 9.1. Everything is fine except that when the simulation data is larger (about 2G or 3 G), it's very slow. I see the hardriver light is flashing and sometime, looks like the simulation is stop. Can anybody tell what's the problem? It's because of suse or of my notebook?
By the way, the laptop have 25G for linux and 512M RAM.

Thanks in advance!
The vey basic difference between a 32 bit and 64 bit OS . Software runs on 32 bits OS can't produce an output file bigger than 4G, sometime just 2 G
 

K

kk_10

Guest
Re: Why simulation is slow

The vey basic difference between a 32 bit and 64 bit OS . Software runs on 32 bits OS can't produce an output file bigger than 4G, sometime just 2 G
 

sunny656

Member level 1
Joined
May 25, 2004
Messages
34
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
382
Re: Why simulation is slow

Hi, all:

I've the similiar problem too, but my IBM notebook is running on Red Hat 8.0 with 256MB RAM and PIII 800MHz CPU installed on it. Each time when I run circuit simulation from Spectra, it takes a long time for the cursor to settledown and it is very hard to move a cruve between two adjacent splitted windows. The simulation time becomes logner exponentially when the design circuit becomes complex. How do I fix this kind of problem ?
 

sunny656

Member level 1
Joined
May 25, 2004
Messages
34
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
382
Re: Why simulation is slow

Hi, all:

I've the similiar problem too, but my IBM notebook is running on Red Hat 8.0 with 256MB RAM and PIII 800MHz CPU installed on it. Each time when I run circuit simulation from Spectra, it takes a long time for the cursor to settledown and it is very hard to move a cruve between two adjacent splitted windows. The simulation time becomes logner exponentially when the design circuit becomes complex. How do I fix this kind of problem ?
 

dumeHCM

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Sep 30, 2004
Messages
106
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
587
Re: Why simulation is slow

Can you tell us more what simulation program are you using? what are you simulating ? How long and what time step are you using? Is you output hit the limit yet (2GB-4GB)? Sometimes it you don't do it right, the simulation just stuck.
 

nxing

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
May 10, 2004
Messages
422
Helped
24
Reputation
48
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Location
China
Activity points
2,858
Why simulation is slow

I was told by somebody that this is a problem of the operating system of Suse 9.1 but there should be no this kind of problem on RH8.0.
 

cetc1525

Full Member level 3
Joined
Oct 8, 2004
Messages
174
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,396
Why simulation is slow

I think 512Mb ram is enough for the simulate.
 

roger

Full Member level 3
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
163
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
1,614
Re: Why simulation is slow

I have heard the reason why simulation is too slow
1. Frequently IO read write
2. unsufficient memory buffer
3. bad coding style, too much dummy loop
4. too old OS version.
5. continuous showing unuseful warning message.
 

ie2019

Newbie level 4
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
7
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
62
Re: Why simulation is slow

A friend of mine is pretty satisfied running IC5 on his IBM Thinkpad T30 [Pentium4 2GHz : Memory 1G : OS RH8], except sometimes the 16MB video card is able to freeze the screen. The way to cure it, as told by him, is to put the laptop into hibernation mode and then un-hiberate it by press Fn-PgUp on the IBM keyboard.
 

cetc1525

Full Member level 3
Joined
Oct 8, 2004
Messages
174
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,396
Why simulation is slow

if hibernation it ,how can I see the result.
 

sunny656

Member level 1
Joined
May 25, 2004
Messages
34
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
382
Re: Why simulation is slow

dumeHCM said:
Can you tell us more what simulation program are you using? what are you simulating ? How long and what time step are you using? Is you output hit the limit yet (2GB-4GB)? Sometimes it you don't do it right, the simulation just stuck.

The simulation program I used with IC 5.0 on my IBM TinkPad is Cadence Spectra.
The circuit I simulated is CMOS-based circuit. The run time I set for the simulation is 500ns /1000ns and the step time 10 ns.
 

sunny656

Member level 1
Joined
May 25, 2004
Messages
34
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
382
Re: Why simulation is slow

ie2019 said:
A friend of mine is pretty satisfied running IC5 on his IBM Thinkpad T30 [Pentium4 2GHz : Memory 1G : OS RH8], except sometimes the 16MB video card is able to freeze the screen. The way to cure it, as told by him, is to put the laptop into hibernation mode and then un-hiberate it by press Fn-PgUp on the IBM keyboard.
I agree with what you say. the simulation speed really depends on the CPU speed and amount of RAM. I've got the experience with faster simulation on another desktop HP Pavilion with P4 CPU of 2GHz and 512MB RAM and RH 8.0 installed on it.
 

xworld2008

Full Member level 4
Joined
Dec 13, 2002
Messages
231
Helped
18
Reputation
36
Reaction score
14
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,801
Why simulation is slow

you can use hdpara -tT /dev/hda1 to see the harddisk speed. if it not reach more than 54M, you should open the DMA of harddisk, in my computer
it reach to 120M(8M cache ,7200).
 

treebear

Full Member level 2
Joined
Aug 6, 2001
Messages
123
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
879
Re: Why simulation is slow

I think this is the a common problem for laptop/notebook computer. Because they are optimized for long battery life, long standby time...., and many many jobs except scientific calculations and EDA tasks. For example, the HD I/O speed for notebook is much less than one for desktop. Also the CPU is focus on low-power, not high performance.
 

delta1

Newbie level 6
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
12
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
35
Re: Why simulation is slow

buy a faster machine
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top