Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Why power does not amplify?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kohtwe

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
21
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,502
Why don't power amplify

+ - × ÷

What answer?
 

electronics_kumar

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
659
Helped
34
Reputation
68
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Tamilnadu
Activity points
5,552
Re: Why don't power amplify

kohtwe said:
+ - × ÷

What answer?
i couldn't understand the question posted by you..plz redefine it so that we will be able to answer it...
 

zawminoo

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
105
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,233
Re: Why don't power amplify

Hi Everybody,

I think kohtwe mean "Why amplifier didn't amplify power?"

In general, the purpose of an amplifier is to take an input signal and make it stronger.
Amplifier can amplify powre.
Plz any comment ???????????????

more info: https://www.rocketroberts.com/techart/amp.htm

:?:
ZAW
 

kohtwe

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
21
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,502
Why don't power amplify

Current or Voltage are amplify. Why don't power amlify?
 

Kral

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Mar 28, 2005
Messages
1,326
Helped
280
Reputation
558
Reaction score
85
Trophy points
1,328
Location
USA
Activity points
13,400
Re: Why don't power amplify

kohtwe,
Power gain equals output power divided by input power. For example: An amplifier has a 1000 Ohm input resistance, a voltage gain of 10, and an output load of 100 Ohms.
~
Assuming the amplifier is operated in its linear region, the following relationships hold:
~
Input power = Vin^2/1000
Output power = Vout^2/100 = (Vin X 10)^2/100
Power gain = [(Vin X 10)^2 / 100] / [Vin^2/1000]
~ = 1000.
~
The power is amplified by a factor of 1000.
Regards,
Kral
 

Naveed Alam

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
287
Helped
16
Reputation
34
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,250
Re: Why don't power amplify

in my opinion (i m not sure), when u amplify voltage, u r amplifing power (the context seems wrong anyway),,
power=VI (i m not considering time)
b/c u r amplifying ur voltage by consuming ur battery power, amplifier don't sinks the source of signal for amplification..
...........
if i m wrong, kindly let meknow...
 

Kral

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Mar 28, 2005
Messages
1,326
Helped
280
Reputation
558
Reaction score
85
Trophy points
1,328
Location
USA
Activity points
13,400
Re: Why don't power amplify

Naveed Alam,
Consider the following example:
An amplifier has an input resistance of 10K Ohms, a gain of 2, and a load resistance of 100K Ohms.
~
With a 1 Volt input, the output voltage is 2 Volts
~ The input power = (1^2)/10000 = .0001W = .1 mW
~ The output power = (2^2)/100000 = 4/100,000 = .00004W = .04 mW
~ The power gain = .04/.1 = .4 => -3.9794dB.
Regards,
Kral
 

neils_arm_strong

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
289
Helped
22
Reputation
44
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Bangalore, India
Activity points
3,247
Why don't power amplify

As far as I know ,the basic operation of a power amplifier is to amplify both current as well as voltage.So if we want to find the power gain,it is current gain into voltage gain.
 

Kral

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Mar 28, 2005
Messages
1,326
Helped
280
Reputation
558
Reaction score
85
Trophy points
1,328
Location
USA
Activity points
13,400
Re: Why don't power amplify

neils_arm_strong,
Power gain = (Output Power) / (Input Power). In some cases, power gain is not a useful parameter. For example, if an amplifier has infinite input impedance, and a finite load, the input power would be zero, and the power gain would be infinite, but this does not have any practical significance. However, in many RF applications, you are working with a specific characteristic impedance, e.g., 50 Ohms. In these applications, both input power and output power have significance.
regards,
Kral
 

Naveed Alam

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
287
Helped
16
Reputation
34
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,250
Re: Why don't power amplify

hi Kral..
so, it means that power amplification exists..interesting for me!!!!

some one said here that amplification means that current and voltage both amplifies.. this is not essential..there are amplifiers which amplifies both, but some amplifies only voltage..for reference read , COMMON-BASE, COMMON, EMITTER, AND COMMON BASE amplifiers.....
Regards
 

electronics_kumar

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
659
Helped
34
Reputation
68
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Tamilnadu
Activity points
5,552
Re: Why don't power amplify

in case of power amplifiers,we are always concerned about its efficency and least bothered about gain..why it isonly a stepmother treatment for gain ..i couldn't understand...
 

lavitaebelle

Member level 4
Joined
Jan 26, 2006
Messages
75
Helped
24
Reputation
48
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
2,131
Re: Why don't power amplify

There is no power amplification in the truest sense. Law of conservation of energy implies that no new energy can be generated. So the power amplification we are talking is only AC power amplification. An AC signal can be voltage, current or power amplified. The power required for this power amplification comes from the DC battery supply.
Here comes the concept of efficiency, which determines how much of the battery power is actually used for AC signal amplification and how much is dissipated in the devices.
 

zawminoo

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
105
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,233
Why don't power amplify

Hi....

I also think as lavitaebelle !! ! !
To amplify a thing (eg:voltage or current),we will lost other one thing.
But this is only my suggestion.

Any comment are welcome!!
 

Naveed Alam

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
287
Helped
16
Reputation
34
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,250
Re: Why don't power amplify

zawminoo said:
To amplify a thing (eg:voltage or current),we will lost other one thing.
But this is only my suggestion.
NO, this is property of transformer..amplifiers do amplification at the cost of Battery..so, no need to reduce the other one..

Regards
 

gliss

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Apr 22, 2005
Messages
692
Helped
75
Reputation
150
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
5,892
Re: Why don't power amplify

Like someone already said, amplifiers run off power. The power delivered to the signal / power used from the source is the efficiency. No new "power" is created, Only used.
 

soniya_ahuja

Newbie level 4
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Mumbai
Activity points
1,348
Why don't power amplify

Power can be amplified. This is where the concept of power amplifiers comes into picture.

If you amplify voltage definitely the output power defined by Pout=Vout*Iout will be more than Pin=Vin*Iin. And so you have amplified power.
 

electronics_kumar

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
659
Helped
34
Reputation
68
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Tamilnadu
Activity points
5,552
Re: Why don't power amplify

soniya_ahuja said:
Power can be amplified. This is where the concept of power amplifiers comes into picture.

If you amplify voltage definitely the output power defined by Pout=Vout*Iout will be more than Pin=Vin*Iin. And so you have amplified power.

...there exists a lot of difference between Voltage amplifier and power amplifier...both cannot be equated at any time
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top