Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Why Padding Zeros before OFDM IFFT?

Status
Not open for further replies.

davyzhu

Advanced Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
ifft ofdm

Hi all,

In many OFDM system(like 802.11a and DVB-T), they always padding zeros to data before go to the IFFT module. Why use padding zeros?

Best regards,
Davy

ofdm ifft

this is related to window size and quality of IFFT

ifft zero padding

It is important as well when you deal with PAPR ....

ofdm zero padding before ifft

Hi,

I am a newbie on this subject.
But what is PAPR?

Regards,
Davy

why we use ifft algorithm in ofdm

PAPR=Peak to Average Power Ratio. It is a serious problem in OFDM system because normal front-end circuit cannot afford large PAPR.

zero padding ofdm

hello
for FFT or IFFT all program(i.e. Matlab)make priodic function to calculte.
because of above the input and out put matrixes have same dimention. but we know in convolution N*M has N+M-1. for addopte this we padding zero.
above is the very short reply by my knowlege.
we hope these are is usefull.

davyzhu

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
zero padding ifft

hi,
The zeros are padded to make bin size of IFFT an integer no. For example, if the sampling frequency is 2048 khz and i want to keep the bins 1 khz apart, then i should do 2048 point fft.

davyzhu

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
ofdm+ifft