Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Why I can use Linux ver. of Modelsim with Windows license?

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

webt

Guest
modelsim problem

why I can't use linux version with a windows license.
 

cnspy

Full Member level 3
Joined
Sep 10, 2002
Messages
151
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,041
Does the license file really depends on os platform?

Do you use it as a license server?
 

vhdlman

Newbie level 2
Joined
Jul 21, 2003
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
20
Re: modelsim problem

The license is not OS dependent. Be sure that you are using the ModelSim release version on both platforms and the same hostid(node-locked or license server).
 

hock

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
May 28, 2001
Messages
525
Helped
47
Reputation
94
Reaction score
21
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India
Activity points
3,567
Re: modelsim problem

the linux version has one more feature called winmain which is not used in windows plateform.
hock
 

z81203

Full Member level 5
Joined
Aug 1, 2001
Messages
308
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,356
it's depend which feature you got. some one is depend platform & some one not.
good luck.
 

robertcheng

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jan 15, 2003
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
46
Re: modelsim problem

Maybe you should check the version of modelsim.
I wonder that the old version for linux didn't support modelsim deamon. It supported metor deamon only.
 

Dongbei

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Mar 10, 2004
Messages
18
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
141
The daemon needed is mgcld.
 

robertcheng

Newbie level 4
Joined
Jan 15, 2003
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
46
Re: modelsim problem

It support modelsim deamon after the version 5.4.
 

gianni

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Jun 4, 2001
Messages
19
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Germany
Activity points
61
Re: modelsim problem

You ned a license server Updated and new version of vendor daemon,
Your license is the same for windows linux or solaris, the difference is the vendor daemon and flexlm

Gianni
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top