Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Why do we need a reset input for DFT scan testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

rmohan_y

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am new to the DFT methodology and trying to understand the basic concepts behind the scan. I have the following doubts. Can somebody help me?
1) I understand that the reset is required during functional mode to initialize the flops with required values after power up . There is no such requirement for DFT scan as we don’t depend on the reset values of flops as we shift in the patterns and shift out the captured values. Why do we need reset input for scan?
2)What kind of manufacturing defects(like stuck-at fault, slow-to rise/fall issues present in gates) are possible in reset network?
3) I saw that i_dfx_fscan_rstbypen is used for for selecting the reset(i_dfx_fscan_byprst_b) during scan. Can i use i_dfx_fscan_mode instead, so that we can save one extra input?

Please define DFT. Its most common meaning in electronic engineering is Discrete Fourier Transform.

In semiconductor industry, DFT stands for Design For Testability. It is a step in the VLSI design Flow. By using the DFT methodology the chip is tested for manufacturing faults (not functional faults, which are taken care by verification engineers). Manufacturing faults include stuck-at 0 (ground/VSS), stuck-at 1(Power/VDD), opens, shorts, transition faults(0->1, 1->0), memory faults (viz. address decoded faults, coupling faults etc.) and various other faults.