Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

why did IC5033 operate at low speed under linux?

Status
Not open for further replies.

020170

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
231
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,221
Last week, I have installed cadence IC5033 on Red hat 7.3

It worked properly, but It is too slow!

for example, when I clicked delete button, cadence Tool is freezing up.

I don't know why IC5033 operate at low speed.
could you tell me the reason?

My computer Spec is following.

Intel pentium 4 2.0Ghz
DDR RAM 1G
video card : NVIDIA MMX 440 64M
hard disk: quantum fireball 8G byte

I have to expand swap hard disk space under linux setup?

I don't remember exactly what I set up swap hard disk space.

thanks.
 

020170

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
231
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,221
thanks for your reply.

but I don't think so that there is very manifest difference between
Red Hat 7.3 and red hat 7.2.

Is there anyone who have any idea from a different angle?
 

hqqh

Full Member level 4
Joined
Feb 7, 2002
Messages
195
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,602
Hi,

as I remember there is a "rule" that the swap partition should be 2 times the RAM size. But I dont think that this is your problem. I have installed ic5033 under suse9.2 and it works great. I also heared from a friend, how installed this version under RH9 and it works too. So maybe you should test an system update. Of course it is a lot of work, but I have no other idea.

Good luck,
hqqh
 

    020170

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

020170

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
231
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,221
Mm...

it is better for me to install Cadence on Linux red hat 9.0 or Suse 9.2

your answer is a great help to me. thanks.
 

elbadry

Full Member level 6
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
350
Helped
72
Reputation
144
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Egypt
Activity points
3,884
020170 said:
Mm...

it is better for me to install Cadence on Linux red hat 9.0 or Suse 9.2

your answer is a great help to me. thanks.

I think RedHat9 is better. Suse usually has problems with display drivers
 

gerryhsu

Full Member level 3
Joined
Oct 20, 2003
Messages
171
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
1,183
I don't think Cadence IC503 support RH9 or SUSE.
 

eng_Semi

Full Member level 6
Joined
May 3, 2005
Messages
325
Helped
37
Reputation
74
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Egypt
Activity points
4,111
Try RedHat 9 or fedora core 3
 

amarnath

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Apr 24, 2003
Messages
402
Helped
26
Reputation
52
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,141
i think the best os for eda is red hat 8.0,particularly if u have relatively new hardware.u can also go in for mandrake.

regards
amarnath
 

qpau

Newbie level 3
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,312
I think RH8.0 is better, however, it doesn't support many up-to-date hardware.
 

bravobravo

Full Member level 2
Joined
May 16, 2001
Messages
122
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
USA
Activity points
973
dear sir we have the same prob like you .
1. try to use "top" command to see if any other process is running ... and we found it and kill it
2. Do set the lic path in flxxxlm lic path and cad..en.. lic path ..
for faster load ..
 

soway

Member level 3
Joined
Apr 9, 2004
Messages
58
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
China,SuZhou
Activity points
410
bravobravo's post is the key solution when you have a cadence tool low speed.
1.kill some high cpu cost process.
2.only the correct license path should be added in your LM_LICENSE_FILE or CDS_LICENSE_FILE.If no useable license,it will wait for a long time when you start your IC50 with command icfb or icms ...
3.I my experience,Redhat 8.0 is the best choice for IC5033,and the newer linux version, you's better use IC5141.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top