Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Why a dipole element is cut to 1/2 wavelength of frequency?

Status
Not open for further replies.

S4C

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Dipoles

Good Morning,

A basic question concerning Dipole elements. I apologize for my ignorance, and any help would be greatly appreciated.

As I understand it: A dipole element is cut to 1/2 wavelength of a desired frequency.

Question: Why 1/2?

-------

Background: Im studying Chaff and why it works as a Radar Jammer. I know that chaff is made of many strips of dipole elements cut to 1/2 of the wavelength of the target "victims" radar frequency. This allows the reflected RF to present itself on the "victims" radar scope.

Why 1/2? Why not the full wavelength? What would would happen if it was cut to the full wavelength instead of 1/2? I think the reason is that the dipole element would not reflect if cut to the full wavelength...but I dont know why.

Any help...?

I am a novice at best. Please can anyone explain this in Laymans terms?

-S4C

Re: Dipoles

The equivalent reflection cross section area per weight of material is maximum with the half wave material. One problem is the frequency selectivity. Making the material longer will allow it to work over a wider frequency range.

The half wave is resonant and so has the maximum currents induced into it. These currents cause radiation.

The Allied code name was window. The Axis code name was dupple. Rope was the Allied code name for long strips (not frequency selective) with cardboard squares on one end that would float to earth extended.