Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Why a cellphone should not be kept near a TV?

Status
Not open for further replies.

purifier

Full Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm always asked not keep my cellphone or a cordless phone near a TV or a monitor... They say it'll be damaged by the strong magnetic field of the TV... But my experience tell me something else... Knowingly or unknowingly, i've been keeping my cellphone near a TV for 4 years while charging... The cellphone is working without giving me any problems.... But this contradicts the theory.. Can someone explain what's happening here please? I still don't get why my cellphone is not damaged... Please help...

tv as a monitor for a cell phone

Sure the TV/monitor has a strong magnetic field, but it is concentrated inside the tube. If it wasn't, don't you think your speakers and computer case would be stuck to the side of your monitor.

The only danger from a TV/monitor is radiation. In which case, keep arms length away from the front of the screen and 5-10 meters away from the sides and rear.

Although, I could be completely wrong,
Sputnik :idea:

can you cell phone near a tv

Thanks a lot for that... So, I was wrong.... then let us think it as the magnetic field of the speakers... Why is the cell phone still working? And what do you mean by concentrated inside the tube? What material is used to trap the magnetic field inside the tube?

Re: Cellphone near a TV