Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

which type of voltage stablizer has more efficiency......servo or relay type.......

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deexith Hasan

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Oct 24, 2014
Messages
111
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
18
Activity points
740
which type of voltage stablizer has more efficiency......servo or relay type....... and what is the diff bet them
 

SunnySkyguy

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Sep 26, 2007
Messages
6,743
Helped
1,675
Reputation
3,348
Reaction score
1,644
Trophy points
1,413
Location
Richmond Hill, ON, Canada
Activity points
50,732
Without specs or details on implementation, I assume Relay provides for slow adjustments with tap change and lifetime limit on current load switches is unknown.

This is common for some high power (MVA) distribution or feeder transformers to have active load switch taps with relay control.

Servo implies stepper motor controlled variac which also has lifetime limit on wiper motion under load current but possibly has smoother voltage regulation. This would likely be more expensive due to variac $/VA

efficiency depends on load loss and regulator loss, so no idea without specs.

the common use of stabilizers at end-user is due to infrastructure cannot support load variation. So in North America and EU, these are rarely used.
 

Deexith Hasan

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Oct 24, 2014
Messages
111
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
18
Activity points
740
stablizers 1KVA-2KVA load 230v 50hz.........which type of stablizer is suitable for double boost
 

chuckey

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Dec 26, 2010
Messages
4,863
Helped
1,308
Reputation
2,622
Reaction score
1,283
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Southampton and holiday cottage in Wensleydale (UK
Activity points
31,695
SunnySkyguy ,I am retired now (14 years!), but its a fact that all analogue VHF and UHF TV transmitters have to use what we call AVRs ( Automatic Voltage Regulators) or it seems others call "stabilizers. This is because of the requirement to keep the HV +- .25% at a load of up to 250 kW. This is because the thermionic device has to be used over an extremely non linear part of its transfer characteristics so the video has to be pre-corrected for this non linearity.
Now the UK has gone digital, at least 400 AVRs have been dumped.
Do you still have analogue TV in the States?, if you do you will still find AVRs.
Frank
 

SunnySkyguy

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Sep 26, 2007
Messages
6,743
Helped
1,675
Reputation
3,348
Reaction score
1,644
Trophy points
1,413
Location
Richmond Hill, ON, Canada
Activity points
50,732
Good point. But I was considering prolific use of stabilizers in OP's locale which is notorious for unstable supply of power.

Yes to digital TV broadcast in Canada

- - - Updated - - -

stablizers 1KVA-2KVA load 230v 50hz.........which type of stablizer is suitable for double boost

Cost, efficiency and Reliability are all tradeoffs.

You only asked about efficiency which is only optimal at max load.

This may explain more options.

http://www.suvik.com/static-stabilizer.php
 

Deexith Hasan

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Oct 24, 2014
Messages
111
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
18
Activity points
740
i gonna build voltage stablizers for my air conditioner not for an analogue TV
 

chuckey

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Dec 26, 2010
Messages
4,863
Helped
1,308
Reputation
2,622
Reaction score
1,283
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Southampton and holiday cottage in Wensleydale (UK
Activity points
31,695
So an air con unit should handle +-10% on its nominal mains, BUT requires the ability to handle high inrush currents when the compressor starts. So the easiest way to go is a relay powered tap changer with a buck/boost transformer and a bit of logic and voltage detection to get it working. You don't want a servo type far too sophisticated for an air con unit.
Frank
 

schmitt trigger

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 17, 2013
Messages
2,725
Helped
858
Reputation
1,720
Reaction score
845
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
18,376
I'm assuming that your air conditioner IS NOT of the "inverter"variety, which does not require an AVR.

In that instance, I'm with Chuckey.... And I would make emphasis that it must be a heavy duty relay, rated for motor use.
Normal relays will blow up under those circumstances.
 

SunnySkyguy

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Sep 26, 2007
Messages
6,743
Helped
1,675
Reputation
3,348
Reaction score
1,644
Trophy points
1,413
Location
Richmond Hill, ON, Canada
Activity points
50,732
Again power quality, cost , efficiency, EMI and reliability are all important tradeoffs. You may pick a few of these as priorities and the others are compromises.

The best choice is determined by the cost of a solution and costs of failure.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top