Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

where to begin learning RTOS

Status
Not open for further replies.

bignick270

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
ccs rtos

I just graduated with a BS Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology degree where I picked up an interest in embedded programming but apparently my degree isn't going to get me any where considering we didn't cover topics of Object Oriented programming or RTOS. Almost every single job requirement for embedded software engineer requires RTOS and a few of them require object oriented programming. We did spend class time with microchip PIC 16F877A's across three semesters in C using the CCS C complier.

I am looking at learning RTOS on my own and get a little experience with it but I do not know where to begin because my budget is fairly small.

I was thinking about going to a ARM 7 but I am having a hard time finding a cheap development system for it.

Any suggestions would be appreciated for a processor/board and maybe reference material (books, pdf's, websites).

Thanks

learn rtos

Vxworks and QNX.
You can buy MCB2100 from keil or order at NXP. They have ARM7 complete kit available for learners. cost not so much

rtos commands

Olimex boards are good, too. You may also check Embedded Artists boards

rtos ccs

HAI,

if you know basiscs of operating system concepts u can easily learn RTOS also because almost all UNIX(GPOS) and VXWORKS(RTOS) commands are similar with little difference.

learning rtos

Yes and no.