Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[PIC] Where do I start learning micro controllers and using them?

Status
Not open for further replies.

papaw

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am near retirement at my job where I have been working for 25 years doing software engineering. I want to get back to my first love which is electronics and I figure that I will join my profession to my first love so, I have opted to get into micro controllers.

The formal education I got before I got into doing the bachelors for computer was electronics engineering technology. I just want to marry the two in my old age.

There are so many micro controllers to choose from or actually disciplines. I see basic stamp, PIC Arduino ...etc. From what I have read, Arduino as well as basic stamp is sort of a development platform to design and build circuits that get powered by a micro controller. Plus, the cost to purchase just a basic stamp is sort of steep as compared to a PIC.

So, by my way of thinking, PIC is the way to go as far as a good place to start and learn about.

From the training I had back in the day as my final design project was a Z80 microprocessor system that did some A to D to control temperature and display the results...etc. I do have the knowledge to work on the hardware side.

Pic appears to be very similar to what I did back in the day except back in the day, I had to program the PROMs using assembler where today using a PIC, one has a higher level language such as C or C++.

Can anyone give me any ideas or tell me if I am wrong in my way of thinking? Can any recommendations be made?