Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

where did I go wrong while solving for R_L?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PG1995

Full Member level 5
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
248
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,717
Hi :-D

I was finding the value R_L for which maximum power takes place. Maximum power takes place when R_L = R_Th. Please have a look on the following link; you can see my answer is different: https://img215.imageshack.us/img215/7743/imgtb.jpg

Where did I go wrong? Please help me out. Many thanks.
 

jony130

Full Member level 3
Joined
Sep 6, 2006
Messages
168
Helped
51
Reputation
102
Reaction score
44
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,323
You wrote for loop 1

-3*(2 I1) - 2 I1 - (I1 - I2) = 0 ---->> -6I1 - 3I1 + I2 = 0 ---->-7I1 + I2 = 0

-6 + -3 = ??
 
  • Like
Reactions: PG1995

    PG1995

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

PG1995

Full Member level 5
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
248
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,717
Thank you very much, Jony. Yes, I do realize now that I have made an error.

I was trying to find R_Th using a current source but the answer is grossly wrong.
Have a look here: https://img19.imageshack.us/img19/5179/img0001naf.jpg

Please also let me know if my statement on KVL is correct for loop 2.

Regards
PG

EDIT: I made a blunder. I didn't shorted independent voltage source. Correct?
 
Last edited:

_Eduardo_

Full Member level 5
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
295
Helped
118
Reputation
238
Reaction score
103
Trophy points
1,323
Location
Argentina
Activity points
2,852
Why you are so orthodox to solve problems?
Why you like add unnecessary unknowns?

The voltage source can be placed after the R 4ohm and calculate the R Thevenin of that block. The final Rth will be Rth = Rth' + 4

In the right figure, just do:
Io = 1/2 + (1+3)/1 = 4.5A ==> Rth'= 1/4.5 = 0.222 .. ohms


Finally: Rl = Rth = Rth' + 4 = 4.222 ohms
 

Attachments

  • 10.jpg
    10.jpg
    28.6 KB · Views: 3
  • Like
Reactions: PG1995

    PG1995

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

PG1995

Full Member level 5
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
248
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,717
Thank you, Eduardo. Yes, you could find me a bit orthodox because I try to follow the procedure given in the book as closely as possible. You are very skilled in this stuff so many of the concepts would seem easier for you but they aren't for me! Gradually, I will also try to more 'liberal' while solving the problems. Thank you.
 

jony130

Full Member level 3
Joined
Sep 6, 2006
Messages
168
Helped
51
Reputation
102
Reaction score
44
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,323
Well you forgot to short the 9V voltage source, and your answer is good.


But if we want to find Rth you need short the voltage source
And why you don't use the nodal? If you want to find the voltage the nodal is the best method becaues we already know the current 1A.



1A = V1/2 + (V1 - 3Vx)/1 (1)
Vx = (0 - V1)

1 = V1/2 + (V1 + 3V1)/1
1 = 9V1/2
1- 9V1/2 = 0
V1 = 2/9 = 0.222V

and Vo = V1 + 4Ω*1A = 4.222V

Rth = 4.222Ω
 
Last edited:

PG1995

Full Member level 5
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
248
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,717
Thank you, Jony.

1: I have also used nodal analysis to solve the problem. Please have a look here: https://img838.imageshack.us/img838/1970/prob1x.jpg

What is your answer to "Ref 1"? Is my answer correct?

2: I have tried nortonized the circuit and tried to find I_N using I_sc. Please have a look here: https://img39.imageshack.us/img39/3187/prob2s.jpg

My answer is not correct as you can see. The V_Th and R_th found previously in previous posts produce different value for I_N than the one found using I_sc. What did go wrong?

Please help me out. Many, many thanks.

Regards
PG
 

jony130

Full Member level 3
Joined
Sep 6, 2006
Messages
168
Helped
51
Reputation
102
Reaction score
44
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,323
Thank you, Jony.

1: I have also used nodal analysis to solve the problem. Please have a look here: https://img838.imageshack.us/img838/1970/prob1x.jpg

What is your answer to "Ref 1"? Is my answer correct?
Yor answer to "Ref 1" looks correct



2: I have tried nortonized the circuit and tried to find I_N using I_sc. Please have a look here: https://img39.imageshack.us/img39/3187/prob2s.jpg

My answer is not correct as you can see. The V_Th and R_th found previously in previous posts produce different value for I_N than the one found using I_sc. What did go wrong?

Please help me out. Many, many thanks.

Regards
PG
Check you math, your equation looks good. and I see the error here
 

PG1995

Full Member level 5
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
248
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,717
Thanks a lot, Jony. It is very nice of you that you have helped me so much along with other members. I have a major test tomorrow. Let's see what happens.

Best wishes
PG
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top