Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

When to use fan

Status
Not open for further replies.

adwnis123

Full Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I have build a circuit on epoxy protoboard with 1,5mm^2 wires. When the circuit is stressed it can consume 5 Amps@12 Volt. Generally I have no experience on that much currents. I am thinking of using a fan for cooling. What is your opinion??

My opinion is: you may need a fan; you may not need a fan; you may need a water-cooled heat exchanger; you may need to use liquid nitrogen; you may need a fire extinguisher.

Unless you give us more information, you're just going to keep getting stupid responses.

For starters, how much heat are you dissipating? How much heat can your mysterious, undefined circuit withstand? What's your ambient temperature?

Hi,

To add what Barry wrote:

Where are your calculations? You need to (learn to) do them on your own. It's not that difficult.

1.5mm^2 copper wire has a resistance of about 1.2mOhms per 10cm.
On 5A this means a power dissipation of about 30mW. You won't recognize the temperature rise.
I see no need for a fan. ...at least without additional informations

Klaus

5 Amps@12 Volt

60W. It can be split among various devices yet not generate damaging heat. Does your finger burn when you press on a component? Perhaps it needs a heat sink. It may be sufficient to attach metal fins, to draw away heat and be cooled by air.

Or else the power supply is a common source of heat. Is that the part you're concerned about?