Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What's the difference between 3 phase 400V, 3 phase 220 V & 3 phase 110 V ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

danishdeshmuk

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Aug 17, 2011
Messages
428
Helped
35
Reputation
70
Reaction score
35
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
4,012
What's the difference between 3 phase 400V, 3 phase 220 V & 3 phase 110 V ?

thanks
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
49,155
Helped
14,388
Reputation
29,040
Reaction score
13,142
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
283,301
What's the difference between 3 phase 400V, 3 phase 220 V & 3 phase 110 V ?
The voltage level.

Usually you'll write both neutral-to-phase and interphase voltage for clarification. 230/400 V mains voltage is generally used allover Europe and also in India or Pakistan. Most industrial drives are using the same voltage.
 

jeffrey samuel

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
1,094
Helped
107
Reputation
214
Reaction score
107
Trophy points
1,363
Location
chennai,india
Activity points
6,373
in India 400 V and above is generally used in industries

220V - 230 V is house hold appliances

110V is used in rail system and other system which support only charging of batteries and stuff which has a wider range of ip voltage rating

they are just voltage readings of the transmitted power signal

they may or may not have the same current rating
 

danishdeshmuk

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Aug 17, 2011
Messages
428
Helped
35
Reputation
70
Reaction score
35
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
4,012
Re: What's the difference between 3 phase 400V, 3 phase 220 V & 3 phase 110 V ?

why some VFDs use single phase 220V neutral & phase and give output 3 phase 220 V AC ??

- - - Updated - - -

Why phase to phase is 220 V across U & V , U & W and V & W ? On VFDs

What would be phase to neutral on the drive ?
 

mailus

Full Member level 4
Joined
Mar 6, 2012
Messages
234
Helped
7
Reputation
16
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,308
Location
-
Activity points
2,706
Single phase vfd's are used for lower capacity motors. The output cann't be measured using multimeter. These vfd's are converting AC to DC then again convert to AC to control speed By changing voltage and frequency.
 

danishdeshmuk

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Aug 17, 2011
Messages
428
Helped
35
Reputation
70
Reaction score
35
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
4,012
Does the internal circuitry & rectification setup remain the same in both types of drives whether Input is 220V single phase & output 220V 3 phase OR Input is 220V 3 phase & output 220v 3 phase OR Input 380V 3 phase & output is 400 V 3 phase ????
 

mailus

Full Member level 4
Joined
Mar 6, 2012
Messages
234
Helped
7
Reputation
16
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,308
Location
-
Activity points
2,706
NO, In single phase it uses 4 diodes to rectify and total current is low but in 440v 3 phase system uses 6 diodes and handling current also higher...so they uses different methods to handle...the overall operations same for all types but the way of handling is different....
 

dineshdeshmuk

Full Member level 5
Joined
Sep 12, 2011
Messages
285
Helped
18
Reputation
36
Reaction score
18
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,131
Its just the power handling issue ???

Esp. b/w the single phase 220 to 3 phase 220V & b/w 3 phase 220 V to 3 phase 220 V output ????
 

danishdeshmuk

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Aug 17, 2011
Messages
428
Helped
35
Reputation
70
Reaction score
35
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
4,012
Ok .

Can we use a Input : 3 phase 220V Output: 3 phase 220V Drive in such a way that instead of 3 phase 220V input we use single phase 220V and achieve the same output i.e. 3 phase 220V output ????
 

mailus

Full Member level 4
Joined
Mar 6, 2012
Messages
234
Helped
7
Reputation
16
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,308
Location
-
Activity points
2,706
Re: What's the difference between 3 phase 400V, 3 phase 220 V & 3 phase 110 V ?

are you asking about this right..

In a VFD instead of give 220v,3 phase input can i give 220v single phase?
 

danishdeshmuk

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Aug 17, 2011
Messages
428
Helped
35
Reputation
70
Reaction score
35
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
4,012
Re: What's the difference between 3 phase 400V, 3 phase 220 V & 3 phase 110 V ?

yes .......

- - - Updated - - -

can we achieve the 3 phase 220V output with a single phase 220V input connected to R & S i.e. Phase & Neutral
 

mailus

Full Member level 4
Joined
Mar 6, 2012
Messages
234
Helped
7
Reputation
16
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,308
Location
-
Activity points
2,706
yes you can achieve..but it's not recommended for regular use because it deliver low current and the dc bus voltage also low... so don't run motor with load....it can be used for testing.......
 

jeffrey samuel

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
1,094
Helped
107
Reputation
214
Reaction score
107
Trophy points
1,363
Location
chennai,india
Activity points
6,373
the current rating of single phase AC is lesser than that of three phase AC so it is not advisable for prolonged use

the power consumed will also increase in case of single phase for doing the same work
 

danishdeshmuk

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Aug 17, 2011
Messages
428
Helped
35
Reputation
70
Reaction score
35
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
4,012
Re: What's the difference between 3 phase 400V, 3 phase 220 V &; 3 phase 110 V ?

what might happen bad for regular using it on the load ?

- - - Updated - - -

Also how to create or produce 3 phase 220V Ac for the input of this VFD ? because we have 380 to 400 V , 3 phase Ac supply
 

jeffrey samuel

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
1,094
Helped
107
Reputation
214
Reaction score
107
Trophy points
1,363
Location
chennai,india
Activity points
6,373
the regular is not economical as load draws more current the power consumed rises leaps and bounds

i never said it is impossible in the longer run but that it is not really suitable for day to day activities

but three phase has higher current ip so this is sufficient to sustain any load imparted
 

danishdeshmuk

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Aug 17, 2011
Messages
428
Helped
35
Reputation
70
Reaction score
35
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
4,012
only the power consumption is the issue , not with the motor and not with the vfd ???
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
49,155
Helped
14,388
Reputation
29,040
Reaction score
13,142
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
283,301
I'm under the impression that there's much speculation in this thread. A brief literature of a major manufacturer's VFD inverter catalogue gives more substantial information.

VFD inverters with single phase 200 to 240 VAC input are available from most manufacturers up to 3 kW motor power. They are particularly popular for motor powers up to 1 kW.

Inverters with three phase 200 to 240 VAC input are commonly used in countries with 120 - 130 V power supply (200 - 230 V interphase voltage), e.g. the U.S.
 

danishdeshmuk

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Aug 17, 2011
Messages
428
Helped
35
Reputation
70
Reaction score
35
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
4,012
how to achieve or create or produce 3 phase 220V Ac for the input of this VFD ? because we have 380 to 400 V , 3 phase Ac supply ?
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
49,155
Helped
14,388
Reputation
29,040
Reaction score
13,142
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
283,301
There are two complementary answers
- there's no regular use for a 230V 3AC converter in a plant with 400 V power supply.
- if you want to use it for some speacial reason, you'll need a 3-phase transformer
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top