Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What simulator is better HSPICE or SPECTRE ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gevy

Full Member level 6
Joined
Nov 17, 2004
Messages
340
Helped
60
Reputation
120
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Russia
Activity points
2,167
simulation spectre divergence

What simulator is better HSPICE or SPECTRE ?
For analog design ?
For mixed design ?

Parameters for comparison:
Accuracy
Speed
Functionalities
The friendly interface
Others
 

khorram

Full Member level 4
Joined
Oct 27, 2004
Messages
212
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,892
Hspice advantages:
1- accuracy (includes very good algorithms to do convergence)
2- functinality
3- just for analog circuits

Hspice disadvantages:
1- user enemy environment or interface (does not include a schematic editor)
2- slower than Spectre because of accuracy

Spectre Advantages:
1- better user interface
2- mixed circuits simulation
3- faster than Hspice

Regards,
KH
 

yyliang

Member level 2
Joined
Aug 26, 2004
Messages
44
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
365
Many said that HSPICE is more accurate than spectre,But from the view of algorithm ,they are the same.
 

xwcwc1234

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Messages
286
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,751
I think the accuracy between Hspice and Specture are same . But in convergence point of view, Hspice often lead to unconvergence problem when simulate large circuit size.
 

sunking

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
May 25, 2004
Messages
874
Helped
70
Reputation
140
Reaction score
23
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
6,283
the accuracy depond on you simulation option value.
I believe the SPECTRE is better for the speed and convergence
 

selvaraja

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jun 1, 2004
Messages
190
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,416
Hi
for high freqeuncy simulation go for Spectre.
 

CDRCDR

Member level 4
Joined
Feb 15, 2004
Messages
79
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
485
I thought they are almost same.Now $ynposys has added the schematic entry for the tool,it can also do analog mixed simulation.
But for RF toolkit,spectre has very strong capability.Though you may also try @DS tools for RF design
 

qslazio

Full Member level 3
Joined
May 23, 2004
Messages
176
Helped
18
Reputation
36
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,420
CDRCDR said:
I thought they are almost same.Now $ynposys has added the schematic entry for the tool,it can also do analog mixed simulation.
But for RF toolkit,spectre has very strong capability.Though you may also try @DS tools for RF design
could you tell me which version of HSPICE include schematic entry ?
 

okguy

Full Member level 6
Joined
Mar 1, 2002
Messages
360
Helped
15
Reputation
30
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Location
China
Activity points
2,649
I much prefer HSPICE as it based on script that you can modify as you want.
But my favorite simulator remains ELDO, as accurate as HSPICE, as fast as Spectre, many useful command such .DEFUNC : function definition!
 

cikyen

Member level 3
Joined
Jun 11, 2003
Messages
58
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
581
CDRCDR said:
I thought they are almost same.Now $ynposys has added the schematic entry for the tool,it can also do analog mixed simulation.
But for RF toolkit,spectre has very strong capability.Though you may also try @DS tools for RF design

em..never know that HSpice comes with schematic editor. Do you mind to tell me what's the binary name? I used to use HSpice with Cosmos SE which is a custom layout schematic editor from Synopsys.
 

chinito

Full Member level 2
Joined
Jul 5, 2004
Messages
130
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,219
people say spectre gives less convergence/divergence problems. In my experience, it's the contrary. Spectre failed on my several times and HSPICE has not on the same design and testbench. Go figure.
 

markty

Member level 3
Joined
Dec 15, 2004
Messages
59
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
493
From what i know, the algorithm in Hspice and spectre are not the same. Hspice is more accurate, spectre is beeter in converge.

By the way, spectre interface is very friendly, though i did not use it.
 

jyq_analog

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
Messages
17
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
151
<<The designer's guide to Spice &Spectre>> may be helpful
 

m_mosazadeh

Member level 4
Joined
Apr 25, 2004
Messages
69
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
iran
Activity points
350
hspice is industrial language that all of the simulators support it.
then I think hspice is better than spectre.Beside hspice the other simulators like spectre, eldo,...are helpful.
 

kwkam

Full Member level 5
Joined
Feb 25, 2002
Messages
276
Helped
30
Reputation
60
Reaction score
13
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Somewhere on earth
Activity points
1,879
Yes, hspice is the benchmark of most of the fab's model. Most of the simulator have to compare their result with hspice to show their accuracy
 

layes2

Full Member level 4
Joined
Dec 3, 2004
Messages
230
Helped
10
Reputation
20
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,410
hspice more accuracy while spectre has more function
 

FD357

Member level 2
Joined
Jul 19, 2003
Messages
44
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
200
How hspice use for rf simulation?
 

pyth2004

Member level 1
Joined
Nov 21, 2004
Messages
37
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
324
I just want to know which company makes SPECTRE ?
 

rongli

Member level 1
Joined
Dec 13, 2004
Messages
34
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
393
I think they just have different model's type.
for IC5,both of the spice &spectra can be used.
 

Teddy

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
461
Helped
103
Reputation
206
Reaction score
62
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
3,861
Well I do not want to be too cynical but to me the best one is the one which a) company provides, b) models are extracted for
anything alse is just question of personal preferences.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top