Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What should be my first PIC or PICs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gamersat678

Junior Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I know this has probably been asked a thousand times but as a beginner I'm completely lost on this stuff and you guys are my only hope (google only gets you so far). Due to inexperience about Microcontrollers I decided I'm going to buy a PICKit2 Starter Kit ($50 hurts but it won't break the bank). What pics should I buy to use with it(I eventually want to build a voltmeter with one of these pics). Btw I'm ordering my stuff from digikey.
Thanks.

Try PIC16F873A or any pic16f series PICs. Then go for higher performance PICs like 18f,dsPIC etc.

Which compiler r u using. First you have to install Mplab it is available with stater kit CD. You can select any of the following compilers.

1. Mplab C18 (But you can't use it with PIC16 MCs).
2. CCS
3. Hi-tech C (I think the lite version maybe available with Pickit 2 starter kit)
4. MikroC / Mikro Basic etc.

If u have any doubt just post it.
Good Luck...

Right now I'm planning on using the demo Picbasic Pro. Is there a demo version of mickrobasic (limitations?)? I program in Realbasic (also did Visual basic 6) on the comp so I figure I should use a language (Basic) that I'm familiar with for Microcontrollers.

Hi,

Well you have made a good decision in going for the Pickit2, its the best programmer I ever had.

The only thing I could suggest is also look at the Pickit2 Debugger kit as well as the Starter kit - think they are both the same price.