Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What kind of triac should I use with this light dimmer circuit?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NTFS

Member level 3
Joined
Apr 6, 2004
Messages
67
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
576
Hi all

I made this circuit to be a light dimmer but it did not work. I use BT136 for the SCR and MOC3022 for optocoupler.
Can you tell me what is the problem? may be I should use another SCR.
 

jzaghal

Full Member level 2
Joined
Jul 31, 2001
Messages
130
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
953
Re: what kind of triac?

Hi,

Try a BTB16/600 or BTA16/600.

The difference being the middle pin connected to the tab or not.

Check datasheet.

Bye.
 

vaibhav.k

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
114
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India
Activity points
1,779
what kind of triac?

please tell voltage at pin no 1 and 6 of Opto when supply is connected
 

CMOS

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
864
Helped
94
Reputation
186
Reaction score
50
Trophy points
1,308
Location
USA
Activity points
5,673
Re: what kind of triac?

NTFS said:
Hi all

I made this circuit to be a light dimmer but it did not work. I use BT136 for the SCR and MOC3022 for optocoupler.
Can you tell me what is the problem? may be I should use another SCR.
I have tested this circuit with BT136. It worked.

Most probably you must have interchanged MT1 and MT2 terminals of triac and thats why its not working.
 

dumi

Member level 3
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
66
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
6
Activity points
387
Re: what kind of triac?

I have tested this circuit with BT136. It worked.

Most probably you must have interchanged MT1 and MT2 terminals of triac and thats why its not working.
Me too I have tried but it doesn't work,i am using PWM 12V and 1mA to power my moc3023
 

prmurthy

Full Member level 5
Joined
Feb 13, 2009
Messages
245
Helped
38
Reputation
76
Reaction score
34
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,770
Re: what kind of triac?

Hi,

Please use non-zero cross TRIAC Driver. Also remove the snubber.

Thanks
 

dumi

Member level 3
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
66
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
6
Activity points
387
why remove the snubber?
 

prmurthy

Full Member level 5
Joined
Feb 13, 2009
Messages
245
Helped
38
Reputation
76
Reaction score
34
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,770
Snubber is required for inductive loads and not for resistive loads.

Thanks
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top