Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

what is the recommended system requirement for ic50 on pc?

Status
Not open for further replies.

byron

Member level 3
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Messages
62
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
372
dive ic50

according to cadence, the ic50 runs on pc is faster than that runs on workstation. but what is the system requirement(cpu, ram, harddisk) to get such a high performance?
 

mariaR

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Feb 28, 2003
Messages
110
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
697
My Pentium II 300MHz and 256MB RAM works fine, still better my Ultra 5 366MHz 256MB RAM at work
 

verilog

Member level 1
Joined
Jul 21, 2001
Messages
33
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
VN
Activity points
185
Was it released?
 

jiang

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
111
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
Taiwan
Activity points
855
Re: what is the recommended system requirement for ic50 on p

byron said:
according to cadence, the ic50 runs on pc is faster than that runs on workstation. but what is the system requirement(cpu, ram, harddisk) to get such a high performance?
Where did you get the performance comparision between ic50 running on workstation and ic50 running on pc?
 

jiang

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
111
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
Taiwan
Activity points
855
Re: what is the recommended system requirement for ic50 on p

byron said:
according to cadence, the ic50 runs on pc is faster than that runs on workstation. but what is the system requirement(cpu, ram, harddisk) to get such a high performance?
Where did you get the performance comparision between ic50 running on workstation and ic50 running on pc?
C@dence's site doesn't provide the detail performance information, as I know.
 

byron

Member level 3
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Messages
62
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
372
kwkam said:
I believe any today's common PC can play the job of IC50
The comparison made by cadence are based on the pc with 2-4cpu.
 

S

sick_man

Guest
the only differance between a workstation machine and a desktop
is maybe an extra cpu and a better graphics chip on the card

other than this maybe windows nt

i would think as with any app

it will be most happy under the conditions it was written

dual cpu usage and workstation added speed is only realy too do with how many threads the app uses when running

if it is multithreaded then yes it will run but will use both processors so will compute many multiplicatve factors faster.....

however if it uses just a single thread then it will run at the same speed

becouse the processor in a single setup still needs too task windows
where as a dual machine does this easier


so i think it is swings and roundabouts

as ever

to get the best performance from any 2d 3d cad
use the fastest video graphics chip accelorator card
using the most compatable drivers whql certified
use genuine software and addin service paks with the latest system firmwares
use the fastest processor the motherboard can take {but the one quoted in there manual} not the one added and flash made too fit
and the fastest ide platter you can buy
set a swap file on a separate drive using the secondary controller
or raid strip your o/s using a matched set
or scsi raid

hardcard o/s is becoming popular as memory cards and speeds get faster

and the new series of heavily protected {hardware locked machines and workstations paladium etc start too appear later this year early next}


this is the best system
 

fengzheng

Newbie level 1
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
6
how to install ic50 on my pc??
anyone have the help docment??
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top